• Katarzyna

Four elements in Tarot

In the ancient world there was a belief that the cosmos is mixture of fire, water, air and earth. The Chinese system later added metal as a fifth element. Today’s Tarot is based on the original four elements.

Each element has an assigned geometrical shape or none at all: Fire (Action/Spirit) - void, Water (Emotions/Soul) - circle, Air (Mind) - triangle, and Earth (Matter) – square.

1 - Fire. Fire is represented by different objects in different decks, but the most common representation is that of wands or rods. People and events represented by wands represent action. The associated season is summer, and the associated zodiac signs are the fire signs of Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius.

Fire provides warmth, but it also has a destructive power.

Words associated with Fire are: action, masculine, incredible energy, activity, passion, freedom, power, sex, vision, anger, strength, endurance, will, assertiveness, courage, and dynamism.

2 - Water. This element is usually represented in the tarot by cups or chalices. It represents our emotions and symbolizes the season of spring, as well as the zodiac signs of Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces.

The key words that Water evoke are: love, deep emotions, illusion, dreaming, art, fashion, healing, flowing, fluidity, purification, regeneration, addiction, drama, devotion, receiving, unconditional love, feminine, reflection, creativity.

3 - Air. This element is typically represented by Swords, Clouds, and other sharp and heavy symbols. It represents a clear mind in addition to war and worry. Air is associated with the season of winter and the zodiac signs: Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius.

The key words that the tarot associates with air are: clarity, intelligence, justice, worry, anxiety, war, arguments, conflicts, quarrels, power struggle, quick, swift, witty, soulless, regret, and guilt.

4 - Earth. Earth is represented by Pentacles, Coins, and Rainbows. It represents material possessions and stability. The associated season is autumn and the zodiac signs are: Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn.

Key words related to Earth are: fertility, stabilisation, stagnation, boredom, abundance, wealth, money, property, real estate, loyalty, wealth, patience, materialistic, reliability, trust, harvest, feminine, solid, slow, peaceful, family, and maturity.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Urban Healers recently hosted an event called “Introduction to Tarot Reading: Minor Arcana.” We discussed how we can search for meaning by mixing numerology with the four elements. This meant talking

I appreciate sceptics, agnostics, and believers in all shades of grey. They all share a sense of respect, which is so important in Eastern Philosophy, for moderation. They are also in tune with Wester

The 6 Reiki Precepts 1. Just for today 2. Turn anger into peace 3. Turn worries into clarity 4. A statement of honesty 5. A statement of honour (respect) 6. An attitude of gratitude The hand position